Major Changes to LSU Football Coaching Staff: Defensive Coordinator and Several Assistants Dismissed

Major Changes to LSU Football Coaching Staff: Defensive Coordinator and Several Assistants Dismissed

The LSU football program has undergone significant changes as head coach Brian Kelly announced the dismissal of several defensive staff members ahead of the 2024 season. The headline departure is defensive coordinator Matt House, who, along with three other defensive assistants, will not be returning to the program next season.

In addition to House, defensive line coach Jimmy Lindsey, safeties coach Kerry Cooks, and cornerbacks coach Robert Steeples will also not be part of the coaching staff. Steeples, Cooks, and Houston were originally members of Kelly's staff when he took over the LSU program in 2022. The only defensive assistants retained were defensive line coach John Jancek and outside linebackers coach Bob Diaco.

LSU's defense had a disappointing season, ranking among the lower-performing units in college football. Despite entering the season as a preseason top-five team, the Tigers struggled on defense, ranking 105th in total defense and 81st in scoring defense. The team gave up over 28 points per game and a staggering 47.3 points per game in their three losses.

The dismissal of these coaches comes after several LSU defensive players entered the transfer portal at the end of the season. However, it should be noted that the winter transfer window had already closed by the time Kelly made his announcement. Additionally, defensive tackle Mekhi Wingo has declared for the 2024 NFL Draft, and four potential other starters were listed as seniors.

Coach Kelly expressed gratitude to the departing coaches for their contributions to the football program and emphasized that these decisions were made in the best interest of the team and its student-athletes. Moving forward, the focus will be on building a championship-caliber coaching staff that aligns with the program's mission to Graduate Champions.

CBS Sports © 2004-2024 CBS Interactive. All Rights Reserved. CBS Sports and are registered trademarks of CBS Broadcasting Inc. and CBS Interactive Inc. respectively. Images by Getty Images and US Presswire.

Read more